

23rd Symposium of the Nematological Society of Southern Africa

19-23 September 2021 Waterval Country Lodge, Tulbagh



The Nematological Society of Southern Africa had a successful 23rd symposium at Waterval Country Lodge in Tulbagh from the 19th to the 23rd of September 2021. Organization of the symposium started at the beginning of 2020, but the COVID-19 pandemic hit South Africa around the same time. After months of uncertainty and discussion about whether the symposium should go ahead, a poll sent out in April 2021 made it clear to the organizing committee: the members of the NSSA wanted an in-person symposium to reconnect with their colleagues.



Bayer was the main sponsor of the symposium, Corteva the platinum sponsor and UPL the silver sponsor. The Bronze sponsors were Syngenta, Villa, FMC, BASF, Nemlab and Adama. In addition, some additional items were sponsored by FarmAg, BASF, Syngenta, Axiology Labs, UPL, Bayer and Corteva. A total of 59 people attended the symposium of which 19 were students. Attendees included delegates from the Agricultural Research Council (ARC), North-West University, Stellenbosch University, Nemlab, Bayer, the Consultative Group for International Agricultural Research (CGIAR), the International Institute of Tropical Agriculture (IITA), UPL, Citrus Research International, the University of the Free State, the University of Pretoria/ Forestry and Agricultural Biotechnology Institute (FABI), BioScience Research, Winfield United, Corteva, Pioneer, Rizobacter, Syngenta, Villa and ZZ2.

The symposium was kicked off with an informative recorded presentation by Dr Albert Schirring from Bayer, titled "Soil Health – A global perspective". His talk was followed by the keynote speaker presentation by Dr Ilse Trautmann of the Western Cape Department of Agriculture who presented an exciting talk on agriculture in the Western Cape.



Lesego Matlala (top left), Dr Gerhard du Preez (top right), Dr Mieke Daneel (bottom left) and Letodi Mathulwe (bottom right) presenting their exciting research.

There were a total of 39 oral presentations and 14 poster presentations. An EPN discussion was organized for the Tuesday afternoon and all who were interested were welcome. The main topic of discussion was the difficulties faced with the production and registration of EPN products in South Africa. These discussions are set to continue. The gala evening took place on the Wednesday evening where the winners of the best posters, best oral presentations and the George Martin scholarship were presented with certificates. The prizes for the papers and posters were limited to students and young scientists. The best oral presentation awards were presented to Ané Loggenberg (First Prize) from North-West University, Murray Dunn (Second prize) from Stellenbosch University and Gerhard Engelbrecht (Third prize) from North-West University. The awards for best poster presentations were awarded to Ilzé Horak (First Prize), Izandie Wiese (Second Prize) and Marisa Meyer (Third Prize), all students at North-West University. The George Martin Scholarship was awarded to Murray Dunn from Stellenbosch University and Marné Pretorius from North-West University. The Bayer award for Advancement of Nematology in Southern Africa was awarded to Dr Rinus Knoetze. Congratulations to all!



The winners of the best oral presentation were (from left to right): Ané Loggenberg (1st Place), Murray Dunn (2nd Place) and Gerhard Engelbrecht (3rd Place).



The winners of the best poster presentation were (from left to right): Ilzé Horak (1st Place), Izandie Wiese (2nd Place) and Marisa Meyer (3rd Place).



The recipients of the George Martin Scholarship were Murray Dunn (left) from Stellenbosch University and Marné Pretorius (right) from North-West University.



The Bayer award for Advancement of Nematology in Southern Africa was awarded to Dr Rinus Knoetze (centre).

The newly-elected members of the NSSA Executive Body were also introduced and congratulated at the gala dinner. The EB for the 2021-2023 term are Dr Mieke Daneel (President), Prabashnie Ramouthar (Vice-President), Lené van der Walt (Newsletter & Website), Prof Hendrika Fourie (Symposium Chairperson), Dr Danny Coyne (IFNS representative), Dr Annika Pienaar (Secretary/Treasurer) and Raymond Collett (Additional Member).



The NSSA Executive Body for the term 2021-2023.





The Monday evening event was sponsored by Corteva and involved a giant Jenga competition.



Honorary NSSA member Robin Jones and his wife Edie stopped by on the Tuesday evening.

NEN



The delegates associated with North-West University.



The delegates associated with Stellenbosch University.



٠ The NSSA EB of the past term (2019-2021). •

۲



The beautiful scenery around the symposium.



• •

The 2021 symposium organizing committee.